Dylan Thomas Prize Longlist 2024 - Shop the Collection Now!

The international longlist for the world’s largest and most prestigious literary prize for young writers – the Swansea University Dylan Thomas Prize – has been announced.

With authors hailing from the UK, Nigeria, Trinidad & Tobago, US, Canada, and Hong Kong, this year’s international longlist is dominated by independent publishers – with nine indie titles. The longlist of 12 is:

-A Spell of Good Things by Ayòbámi Adébáyò (Canongate Books) – novel (Nigeria)
-Small Worlds by Caleb Azumah Nelson (Viking, Penguin Random House UK) – novel (UK/Ghana)
-The Glutton by A. K. Blakemore (Granta) – novel (England, UK)
-Bright Fear by Mary Jean Chan (Faber & Faber) – poetry collection (Hong Kong)
-Penance by Eliza Clark (Faber & Faber) – novel (England, UK)
-The Coiled Serpent by Camilla Grudova (Atlantic Books) – short story collection (Canada)
-Hungry Ghosts by Kevin Jared Hosein (Bloomsbury Publishing UK/Ecco, HarperCollins US) – novel (Trinidad and Tobago)
-Local Fires by Joshua Jones (Parthian Books) – short story collection (Wales, UK)
-Biography of X by Catherine Lacey (Granta) – novel (US)
-Close to Home by Michael Magee (Hamish Hamilton, Penguin Random House UK) – novel (Northern Ireland, UK)
-Open Up by Thomas Morris (Faber & Faber) – short story collection (Wales, UK)
-Divisible by Itself and One by Kae Tempest (Picador, Pan Macmillan) – poetry collection (England, UK)

Comprising of seven novels, three short story collections and two poetry collections, this year’s longlist spans continents and time periods to explore themes of adversity, identity, home and love.


Older Post